Resources for Healthcare Providers
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services require blood lead tests for all children with Medicaid coverage at ages 12 months and 24 months. In addition, any child between ages 24 and 72 months with no record of a previous blood lead test must receive one.
In Washington State, healthcare providers should assess all children for risk of lead poisoning at 12 and 24 months of age. The Department of Health recommends performing a blood lead test on children with certain risk factors.
Healthcare providers should consider testing additional children per clinical judgment, such as:
- Children whose parents have concerns or request testing (including older children that have risk of exposure).
- Children living within a kilometer of an airport or lead emitting industry, or on former orchard land.
- Children with pica behavior.
- Children with neurodevelopmental disabilities or conditions such as autism, ADHD, and learning delays.
Lead screening recommendation resources
The PEHSU fact sheet provides recommendations on medical management of lead exposure and poisoning based on a patient’s lead levels. The fact sheet also discusses principles of lead exposures in children, information on lead screening, and principles of iron deficiency screening as well as additional resources.
Lead screening questionnaire
Blood lead levels is a reportable condition in Washington state. Under the state’s reporting law, all laboratories performing blood lead tests are required to report the results of those tests directly to the Washington State Department of Health. All elevated blood lead levels (5 µg/dL or higher in youths under age 15, and 10 µg/dL or higher in adults) must be reported within two days. All other test results must be reported within one month.