About the District

The Snohomish Health District was created in 1959 as an independent special purpose district responsible for public health in Snohomish County. We are separate from Snohomish County government, although it provides financial support and is an essential partner in many functions.

The Snohomish Health District works for a safer and healthier community through disease prevention, health promotion, and protection from environmental threats.

Board of Health

A 15-member Board of Health oversees policy and budget development for the health district. All five Snohomish County Council members sit on the Board of Health, together with 10 city council members or mayors representing the 20 cities and towns in Snohomish County. 

The Board of Health meets on the second Tuesday of each month at 3 p.m. at the health district's main office. Meetings are open to the public.

Health District Leadership

Dr. Chris Spitters is the health officer of the Snohomish Health District.

Shawn Frederick is the administrative officer.

To learn more, visit the District Leadership page.

2022 Legislative Priorities

The 2022 priorities focus on:

  • Coronavirus
  • Foundational Public Health Services
  • Marijuana Tax Revenue
  • Adult Mortality Review
  • Housing and Health
  • Quarantine or Isolation Employment and Childcare Protection
  • Equity
  • Mental Health
  • Climate and Health
  • Vapor Products
  • Access to Whole Body Care

For more information, see the full Legislative Priorities document.

2018 Annual Report Video